Anton & Stephanie – Friday Arts at No5.   1 comment

Anton & Stephanie

At

Friday Arts At No5.

Having played and hosted Darkey Kelly’s in the afternoon and then played a set at the Pint Bar after tea I was tempted to head home…. But….. Decided I’d pay a quick visit to the December session at No. 5., say hello, wish Happy Christmas. The No 5. sessions are really nice warm sounding acoustic showcases set in the high ceilinged drawing room of a big old house. Everyone listens and when you are playing you know everyone is focusing on you, no pressure… A couple of youngsters from Dundalk had just started when I arrived, Anton & Stephanie. This was my first time to hear them and I have to say I was really impressed and very glad I hadn’t headed home after The Pint. They sing together beautifully, lovely harmonies, crisp guitar from Anton, every word clear, every song strong and assured. Song wise they seem to do mostly covers but not tribute style, they have reinvented the songs for themselves. My favourite was Michael Jackson’s ‘Billy Jean’, the arrangement apparently drawn from American duo the ‘The Civil Wars’ version. But Anton & Spephanie made it their own. I’d love to hear more original work from this young boy and girl, whether they write themselves or draw from other local songwriters, I just know the results would be impressive, captivating and original in performance and interpretation.
And…. I was able to wake up with them this morning……. Anton gave me a promo CD, just the two of them singing along with the guitar, Billy Jean hit my stereo today and was sounding just as good as last night :). Nothing beats a couple of 100 watt speakers moving the air and hitting your ears with some great sounds.

Tony Floyd Kenna.

https://www.facebook.com/AntonStephanie

https://soundcloud.com/antonandstephanie/michael-jackson-billie-jean

Posted December 14, 2013 by tonyfloydkenna in Live Reviews

Tagged with , ,

One response to “Anton & Stephanie – Friday Arts at No5.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Reblogged this on antonandstephanie.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

